Skip to main content


Showing posts from August, 2009

Aug. 2009 General Column: Most 2009 Bills Enacted Aug. 28

This Friday, Aug. 28, most of the bills passed during the 2009 legislative session that were not previously enacted will officially become law.  Rather than being just an arbitrary date, Aug. 28 is 90 days after the constitutional end of session, significant because the state constitution requires that no passed bills take effect before 90 days have passed with a few exceptions. For instance, most budget bills take effect at the beginning of the new fiscal year, or July 1 (unless they are supplemental budget bills for the current fiscal year). Other bills may contain an emergency clause that was attached during passage. When bills are passed with an emergency clause, they usually take effect immediately upon receiving the governor’s signature. In larger bills, some provisions may designate specific enactment dates while others do not. And some bills may assign a different enactment date altogether, such as the beginning of the following year. To read more, click here.

Senate’s Educated Citizenry 2020 Committee Holds “Visioning” Meeting

The Missouri Senate’s Educated Citizenry 2020 Committee will hold its second meeting tomorrow (8/25), which will focus on establishing a vision that will help guide the committee as it develops long-term strategies for improving education in Missouri. The committee was established this year under Senate Resolution 304 and is responsible for creating long-term plans and strategies for developing an educational system where Missouri students learn to be productive and successful citizens who are prepared for global competition.Some of the topics on the agenda for tomorrow’s meeting include discussion of the committee’s vision and the process for developing that vision, the principles and values that will guide the process and the committee’s eventual goals. Serving on the committee are Sen. David Pearce (R-Warrensburg), chairman, Sen. Jeff Smith (D-St. Louis), vice-chairman, Sen. Jane Cunningham (R-Chesterfield), Sen. Kurt Schaefer (R-Columbia), Sen. Wes Shoemyer (D-Clarenc…

Senate Leader Appoints Senators to New Joint Energy Committee

Missouri Senate President Pro Tem Charlie Shields (R-St. Joseph) today (8/11) appointed five senators to serve on the Joint Committee on Missouri’s Energy Future. The committee was created under House Bill 734, a natural resources measure that was signed into law last month. The new panel is charged with developing a long-term energy strategy that meets the state’s energy needs and ensures Missouri residents and businesses access to affordable, abundant and clean energy sources while still providing them with low energy rates.  The committee consists of 10 members, five from the Senate and five from the House of Representatives. Senator Shields appointed the following senators to serve on the committee:Sen. Tim Green, D-St. LouisSen. Jolie Justus, D-Kansas CitySen. Brad Lager, R-SavannahSen. Rob Mayer, R-DexterSen. Kurt Schaefer, R-ColumbiaMeeting notices will be available on the House and Senate websites. Committee members must prepare and submit a report to the General …