Skip to main content


Showing posts from November, 2008

Senate Members, Members-elect Choose Leaders for 2009-2010 Session

JEFFERSON CITY — Missouri state senators and senators-elect caucused at the capitol building today (11/6) to choose leaders for the 95th General Assembly, which begins in two months.
The majority caucus unanimously endorsed current majority floor leader Senator Charlie Shields (R-Buchannan) as president pro tem, taking over for outgoing Senate leader Mike Gibbons (R-Kirkwood). Among a number of powers as Senate leader, the pro tem appoints committee members, assigns bills to committees and rules on points of order raised during chamber debate. (The caucus vote on this top Senate leadership post will be put before the full body in January.)
Current majority whip Senator Kevin Engler (R-Farmington) was tapped to fill the majority floor leader slot to be vacated by Sen. Shields. Among several duties, the majority floor leader sets the schedule of bills to be debated by the full body, the time allotted for floor debate on said bills, and the meeting times and dates of the Senate.
Senator Jac…